Duda appointed as President

Andrzej Duda has been sworn in to become the sixth Polish president at a ceremony in the Sejm on Thursday.


At 10:00 am members of the National Assembly, the 460-seat lower house – the Sejm and the 100-seat upper house – the Senate, stood for the national anthem after which Duda took the presidential oath.

Later today, during a ceremony in front of the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier in Warsaw, Duda will take over command of the Polish armed forces. Andrzej Duda is the sixth Polish President since the country embarked on the path of democratic transformations in the summer of 1989. His predecessors were Wojciech Jaruzelski (the only one elected by the National Assembly, in July 1989), Lech Wałęsa, Aleksander Kwaśniewski (who served in the post for two terms, in 1995-2005), Lech Kaczyński (who was killed in the air crash in 2010, the last year of his term), and Bronisław Komorowski.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.